Skip navigation
Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: Collective enhancement in nuclear level density
Authors: Mohanto G.
Parihari A.
Rout P.C.
De S.
Mirgule E.T.
Srinivasan B.
Mahata K.
Behera S.P.
Kushwaha M.
Sarkar D.
Nayak B.K.
Saxena A.
Kumar A.K.R.
Gandhi A.
Deb N.K.
Arumugam, Paramasivan
Published in: Physical Review C
Abstract: Several experimental investigations have reported evidence of collective enhancement of the nuclear level density and its fadeout. However, a suitable method is needed for experimental determination of the enhancement factor as a function of excitation energy. In this study, neutron spectra were measured in coincidence with evaporated α particles produced in the reactions B11+Ta181,Au197. The nuclear level density parameter has been extracted for the Os(A≈188) and Pb(A≈204) isotopes by comparing neutron spectra with statistical model prediction. Evidence for collective enhancement has been found for Os nuclei whereas no such enhancement has been seen for Pb nuclei. The energy-dependent enhancement factor has been extracted by simultaneous fitting of the neutron spectra at various excitation energies. Near a temperature of 0.8 MeV, the enhancement starts to fadeout which is lower than the theoretically predicted temperature of 1.4 MeV for Os187. Also, free energy surface calculation shows that the Os187 nucleus undergoes a transition from collective prolate to noncollective oblate shape close to the temperature of 0.8 MeV, corroborating the early fadeout. No such shape transition is seen for Pb203. © 2019 American Physical Society.
Citation: Physical Review C (2019), 100(1): -
Issue Date: 2019
Publisher: American Physical Society
ISSN: 24699985
Author Scopus IDs: 36102555100
Author Affiliations: Mohanto, G., Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai, 400085, India
Parihari, A., Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai, 400085, India, Inter University Accelerator Centre, New Delhi, 110067, India
Rout, P.C., Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai, 4000
Funding Details: et al. Mohanto G. * Parihari A. † Rout P. C. ‡ De S. Mirgule E. T. Srinivasan B. Mahata K. ‡ Behera S. P. Kushwaha M. § Sarkar D. Nayak B. K. ‡ Saxena A. Bhabha Atomic Research Centre , Mumbai 400085, India Kumar A. K. Rhine Department of Physic
Appears in Collections:Journal Publications [PH]

Files in This Item:
There are no files associated with this item.
Show full item record

Items in Repository are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.